5 Things that you should do before you turn 20

Lessons that I wish I knew when I was a teenager

Aamer Seth
6 min readOct 6, 2021
Photo by rayul on Unsplash

Recently, I just turned 21 and its got me thinking. For me, turning 21 means that my 20s are properly starting and I have to start planning for the future. I’ve started to think more about where I want to live, how I am going to afford things, what I want to do as a career, and if I am spending my time efficiently to achieve all my goals.

Thinking about the future has also gotten me to think a lot about the past, and the things I have done when I was a teenager. There are a few things that I am grateful I started in my teen years, and a few things that I only started recently, but should have done a long time ago. So, here are five things that you should start doing before you turn 20.

1. Invest!

I remember when I was 16, I was making some good money over the summer, and I was having the most fun with it! Buying all the technology products and clothes that I wanted, going out with friends and spending away! However, since I was making quite a bit of money (for a 16-year-old), my parents would mention that maybe I should consider investing some of it. And, being a 16-year-old, I thought this was the dumbest thing, I was too young to start investing and I would have time later in my life for that.

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.