Are we too dependent on technology?

Aamer Seth
3 min readOct 17, 2020
Photo by Domenico Loia on Unsplash

I have come to the realization how dependent I am on the technology around me, recently my laptop. One morning, I am simply folding clothes while watching some Netflix and all of a sudden, it dies. I get the blue screen of death. So, I am thinking that no problem, it’ll just restart and all will be fine. But, it doesn’t. I try and force shut down and boot it up and learn that my hard drive has essentially died, not being able to boot Windows.

I have no laptop.

Since losing my laptop, I have been working off my iPad which has been very limited. While I am able to get some basic work done, it has certainly slowed down my work flow a lot and made it increasingly difficult to get anything done. It made me realize how dependent I am on my laptop and the technology around me. Thinking back, I almost did not get the iPad, but now I am happier than ever or else I would not be able to do any work whatsoever.

Without my laptop, I have been less productive in many ways. Online school is much harder, taking notes and viewing the lecture slides from a much smaller device is no fun. As a photographer, I am unable to edit any photos from my iPad, something that I absolutely need a laptop for. I spent more time procrastinating and playing games and my overall mood had gone down since I feel bad for wasting time and another day doing nothing.

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.