Becoming a Minimalist

Aamer Seth
4 min readJul 9, 2020
Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

About two months ago, I decided to become a minimalist.

One of my favourite YouTubers, Matt D’Avella is a minimalist (as he mentions in every video) and after watching his many videos on Minimalism, I thought that this is a lifestyle I could really benefit from. For me, minimalism is a simpler lifestyle that allows me to prioritize what really matters to me in life.

Before minimalism, I was someone who loved buying, especially clothes. I am heavily involved and interested in fashion so I was someone who had tons of clothes in my closet and a wishlist of what I wanted to buy next including extremely expensive designer wear. Going to shopping malls and looking around was a weekly activity for me. Over the years, I accumulated tons of clothes that filled two closets: one at university and one at home. In addition, I am a huge techie. I always want the best of the best tech devices, even devices that I did not exactly need. Something about me always wanted the latest and the greatest.

So, what did I do to start my minimalism journey? First, simplified my closet. Since it had too many clothes, 90% of them I didn’t even wear or fit me, I threw them in a bag for donation. Currently, I have about 10 shirts, two pairs of pants (one jeans, one formal), two shorts and two joggers for working out. Next, the items in my house. I…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.