Choosing the right University

Aamer Seth
4 min readMay 4, 2020
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

Did you know that there are over 25,000 Universities in the world? Choosing the right university for the right career path seems impossible and quite honestly, a stressful process.

During high school, once grade 12 started, the thing that was on everyone’s mind was to get the highest mark to get into the university of their choice. It seemed like everyone was consistently stressing, for good reason. There are lots of factors that go into choosing a university. From the residence, location, program, extracurriculars, campus opportunities, the list goes on. There was also the constant fear of not getting into any university. I applied for seven different universities and I have friends who applied for 15.

When I was looking into where I wanted to apply, I focused on two things: Location and Program.

Location: Some students want to go abroad. Some want to move out and some want to stay at home and commute. Fortunately, being in Canada, I am fortunate enough to have many great university options where it did not make sense to spend international fees. Almost everything that I could find in the United States or the UK, I could find a suitable alternative near where I was living. While I had great university options around me that I could easily commute to, one of the biggest reasons why I was excited about university was to move out of the house…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.