How I Increased Productivity

Aamer Seth
3 min readMay 4, 2020
Photo by Bethany Legg on Unsplash

Procrastination is my best friend. Or rather was my best friend. Seriously, he has have been around for as long as I can remember. There are so many ways not to get work done and so many other “better” things to do. I find that every time I sit down at my desk, laptop out and open, about to study and get shit done, I just quickly check my phone to see if I missed any messages or notifications. The next thing I know, I am lying down on the bed watching the 6th consecutive episodes of “Friends” in a row.

Oddly enough, I found that I would watch a lot of videos about hard work, reducing procrastination and increasing productivity so that I can use my time effectively, but ultimately, it never worked.

During my time in quarantine, I spent the first two weeks doing absolutely nothing productive, played lots of video games and watched Netflix. I still had school at this point where I quickly did the bare minimum and submitted. I’ve never felt more unmotivated and bored in my life. At certain times, I was extremely disappointed in myself. So how did it all change?

I changed my mindset.

I changed it to such a way where I enjoyed doing work. When I completed a task, I wasn’t thinking “okay that’s done, what’s next?”. Now I think “Did a good job on that! What else can I accomplish today?” or “how could I make this…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.