How to find your Photography Niche

Aamer Seth
4 min readApr 16, 2020

How I found out more about myself as a Photographer and how you can too.

When I started photography, I must have been around 7–8. I would run around the house, taking terrible photos of the most random things and thinking I was the best photographer. My dad was a food photographer which is how I got started. He was the one who gave me my first camera. A Canon Rebel. Obviously wasn’t the fanciest of cameras, but I loved it and used it for at least over five years. He taught me the basics, showed me what I was doing right and wrong and today, he is still and will always be my biggest critic.

Today, I consider myself a portrait photographer who is looking into getting more involved in Fashion and Wedding photography. In all honesty, I haven’t tried everything (as badly as I want to). Now, I could make excuses and tell you why and what I need to do, but it’ll be a better use of my time and yours to tell you how I got into portrait photography to show you how you can find out your photography niche.

First, I brought my camera everywhere. Park, school, the mall even. I took pictures of everything and would see what I enjoyed taking photos of the most. Midway through high school, I found out more about what I like shooting and what I didn’t like. For me, I found that I really enjoyed taking photos of my friends and people, going into the…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.