How to get published in a Fashion Magazine

Aamer Seth
2 min readMay 7, 2020
Photo by Chris Charles on Unsplash

It was last summer when I started taking my photography more seriously. I knew that I enjoyed shooting people, doing portraits and fashion. In the same summer, I was published in two different magazines! And this is how you can get published as well.

1. Connect with People

I didn’t know how to get published in a magazine. In fact, I wasn’t even considering it at the time. Through Facebook groups, I met a model (Vandana Bharti) and make-up artist (Japjeet Kaur). I did a photoshoot with both of them and then we all came together and planned another shoot specifically for magazine submission.

Social media is the best way to connect with people. I’d highly recommend looking for models and make-up artists to collaborate with. Personally, Facebook and Instagram have worked wonders for me.

2. Find out what magazines are looking for

Most of the time, magazines are just looking for the same idea, just done differently. You can find out the specifics when you are submitting your photos. The website that Vandana used and showed us is Kavyar.com. It shows hundreds of open submissions with the technical guidelines that must be followed and some even have mood boards of what they are looking for linked to the submission pages. It is a great…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.