My MacBook got stolen.

Be careful selling online

Aamer Seth
4 min readJul 10, 2021
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

I am not much of a storyteller, but I think there is a few things to be learned from my experience last night. I wouldn’t want this to happen to anyone else, so I thought I would share it here.

Let me preface this by saying I have sold many items on FaceBook Marketplace and Kijiji, and they’ve all worked out great in the past. However, this time, not so much.

That being said, story time!

About a week ago, I decided to sell my 13-inch MacBook Pro and use the money to upgrade to the 16-inch. I was able to get a really good deal on the 16-inch, but first needed the cash that the 13-inch would provide.

I bought my 13-Inch MacBook Pro for around $3000 after taxes and all. I decided to sell it for $2400 (which is a steal given the condition that it was in.) So, I posted the ad on FaceBook Marketplace and Kijiji one night, and the next morning I woke up to quite a few messages for the MacBook.

Only problem that each and everyone of them was a scam. First, they wanted me to ship the laptop. I was willing to and everything provided that they paid for the shipping fees and I had the money in my account. They had my word, and everything was done on text so there was proof and all. However, every online transaction that I got…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.