One Month with the MacBook Pro

My experience with my very first MacBook

Aamer Seth

--

Photo by Ales Nesetril on Unsplash

Last month, my laptop broke. Ideally, I was hoping to wait for the Apple Silicon MacBook’s so that when I upgraded, not only would I have one of the most powerful MacBook’s, but the most up to date. However, as 2020 has showed us, shit happens. So, I decided to upgrade to the 2020 13-Inch MacBook Pro that was recently refreshed this year with the new keyboard and updated storage. Here are some thoughts that I have had over the last month.

The Tech Specs of my Laptop are:

  • 2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5
  • 16GB Ram
  • Intel Iris Graphics
  • 1TB Storage

The first thing that I noticed is the speed of the SSD. In fact, it has spoiled me. If you are someone who has a hard drive, don’t upgrade unless you can commit to a Solid State Drive for the rest of you life. Waking up from sleep, opening applications, even bigger ones such as Adobe Photoshop or Lightroom open extremely quickly and allow me to get to work faster. It is ridiculously fast, and this is something that I never had in the past, but cannot imagine living without.

Next, the operating system. All my previous laptops have been Windows, so moving to macOS was certainly the challenge. About a month later…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.