Should you get a job during University?

Aamer Seth
4 min readAug 15, 2020
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

As a university student, one of my biggest worries is money. We all want enough money to do everything we want to do with friends, afford the perfect study materials and technology, eat good food. Somehow, we never have enough of it and the ideal solution is to work. But, with school being a big responsibility, you can imagine that it gets quite hectic managing everything. Studying, working, social life, family life. Its a lot.

During the first year of University, I did not have a job. In fact, I refused to have a job since I wanted to embrace the full university experience and focus on my studies. In the second year, I decided to go out and get a job with the mindset that life is only going to get harder, and by having a job and school going on, I will learn time management

Here is my experience

During the first year of university, I found that I had a lot of free time. I handle my studies the best I could, but I was able to find time to relax, hang out with friends and have a social life. It was because I had this free time, I also procrastinated a lot and did not do the best in school. For me, I find that I always need to be busy in order to get things done, not only on time but being busy allows me to put in my best work. To add, money was not really a problem. I lived on residence with a meal plan so I did not spend a…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.