Start Investing as a Teenager

Advice I wish I got when I was younger

Aamer Seth
3 min readJan 16, 2021
Photo by MayoFi on Unsplash

As I am entering my twenties, I realized that I need to be smarter about how I am using my money so that I am better prepared and set for the future in case anything were to happen. So, I took the initiative to start learning about the stock market, investing, brokerage accounts, different methods of investing and how it all works and this was easily one of the best things I have done and spent my time doing this summer.

Only, I wish I had learned about it around five years ago.

The other day, I came across a post on how Bitcoin had grown from $500 in 2015 to where it is today, almost valued at nearly $50,000, and I immediately started thinking I wish I had the money for that five years ago and bought a Bitcoin or two. But, as I was thinking back, I realized that I did have some money to start investing.

It was just before I turned 15 that I got my very first job at a grocery store and started earning money. And as a typical teenager, I used that money to buy games, food, and useless stuff, without really saving a dime. I was having fun, but now, 20 year-old me regrets it and sees it differently.

At that age, all my expenses were covered by my parents. So, I didn’t need a job, I just wanted…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.