Upgrading to the Canon EOS R in 2021

Does Canon’s First Mirrorless hold up in 2021?

Aamer Seth
6 min readMar 31, 2021
Photo by Michael Marais on Unsplash

Mirrorless DSLR’s camera’s are the newest and quickly becoming the standard for many photographer’s and videographer’s. Canon joined the Mirrorless DSLR game back in 2018 with the introduction of the Canon EOS R. Last year, they released the Canon EOS R6 and R5, the best mirrorless camera’s that Canon has to offer. So, with the new one’s available, is the Canon EOS R worth upgrading to in 2021? Does a 3-year-old mirrorless camera still hold up?

First, it is important to note where I am coming from and what made me buy the Canon EOS R. I have been using my Canon Rebel T5i for the last 5 years. I knew that camera like the back of my hand, what it was great at and what were its limitations. Knowing the limitations of the Canon Rebel T5i, I knew what I was looking for in my next camera.

I love taking Low-light portraits, and loved the idea of doing photography at night, but often, I was shooting hand-held and did not have a tripod. So, I needed a camera with a high ISO capability that doesn’t add so much noise. I know some photographers love to have some noise in their photos since it gives it a bit of an old-fashioned film look, but I am not one of them. I wanted to be able to shoot indoors where there is limited lighting or during golden hour without…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.