Why I Downgraded my Phone

Aamer Seth
3 min readJun 18, 2020
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

I am a huge techie. I’ve always wanted the best stuff, always watching as many keynotes events that are put on by tech companies, excited to see what is new and how technology has progressed. Many of the YouTubers that I am subscribed to are Tech YouTubers. This year, however, I got a new phone which in many ways can be considered a downgrade from my previous phone.

My previous phone was an OnePlus 5T. It had a Dual Camera system, Full-HD AMOLED 6-inch display, a large battery that worked very quickly for the most part. After having the phone for about two years, it started to slow down and glitch every now and then. Being a tech nerd, this was exciting for me because I had an excuse to upgrade my phone. Except I didn’t really “Upgrade”.

My new, current phone is the new iPhone SE. With a single camera system, an LCD 4.7-inch display at a lower resolution, smaller battery and no headphone jack. On paper, the iPhone is better than the OnePlus when it comes to the processor. But in almost every other way, this would be considered a downgrade by many. Except for me.

First, I love the fact that I am now able to use my phone with one hand. While I miss watching videos on a bigger screen, using it with one hand comfortably is the best. Second, I wanted to join the Apple Ecosystem. I didn’t realize how much I love the fluidity of switching seamlessly…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.