Why I hate Social Media

I don’t have any Social Media on my phone and here is why

Aamer Seth
4 min readMay 20, 2021
Photo by Marten Bjork on Unsplash

Last year, when lockdown began, I deleted all social media off my phone. There was just a lot of noise, and with every country handling the pandemic differently, and there was major FOMO as well. While I was being responsible and staying at home, I had friends meeting up or quanantining with each other and having a great time.

At a certain point, social media was just not helpful in anyway. Watching other people, both that I know and do not know having fun or bitching about being in quarantine like we all were. Social media became a place filled with negativity, and rather connecting me to people, it was just making me mad at people for no reason.

So, I decided to delete all social media off my phone until lockdown was over. At the time, I was thinking that this whole COVID-19 thing would be done within 6 months. Boy was I wrong.

There was no longer any Snapchat, Instagram or Facebook on my phone (I wasn’t a big fan of Twitter anyway) and I logged out of all of them on my other devices so I was as disconnected as I possibly could be. The only app that I kept was Facebook Messenger so that I was able to text a few friends every now and then. I figured that everyone in my life who is important to me, I have their phone number, so I…

--

--

Aamer Seth

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.